Locally known as Pol-e Chubi (wooden bridge), the historical Juei bridge is a Safavid era bridge, around 145 m long with 21 arch-shape sluices or spans on the Zayandehrud River between the two fantastic Si-o-Se Pol and Khaju bridges.
Built in 1665 during Shah Abbas II’s reign over a stone canal (now covered) that watered the royal gardens on the riverbanks, the bridge was used exclusively by the king, his courtiers, and royal visitors and was closed to the public due to the fact that the bridge was used for connecting royal palaces such as Saadat Abad, Haftdast, Aeineh Khaneh, and Namakdan on the southern and northern banks of the river which no longer exist.
Called “Juei” meaning canal due to the small delicate canal made of Persian Stone, the bridge also includes other names such as Saadat Abad and Haft Dast because of the surrounding palaces, as well as Daryacheh (lake) as on the eastern and western sides of the bridge, water used to get piled as if it was a lake.
In the middle of the bridge, there are two nice hexagonal parlors, created as refreshing places for the king’s rest and relaxation, making the architecture of the monument even more fascinating.
Visiting the bridge with an amazing view of the Khaju bridge, walking over it, enjoying wonderful green scenery, and listening to the refreshing sound of water constitutes a memorable part on a tourist’s travelogue.